Mark Ranson wins Maritime Professional of the year 2019!

Did you know that a week ago today – Mark Ranson was celebrating becoming the European Maritime Professional of the year?!

The European Commercial Marine Awards (ECMAs) winners were announced during a packed ceremony held at the Golden Arrow Marine Restaurant on site at Seawork on the evening of Tuesday 11th June.

The Maritime Professional of the Year Award, sponsored by MHO-Co and presented by Mik Henriksen, CEO of MHO-Co, went to Mark Ranson of the National Workboat Association.

Nominated for his ongoing hard work and commitment to the workboat industry during the last 8 years as Secretary / CEO of the National Workboat Association, it was explained that this drive and enthusiasm has continued to grow even into his last days in his role – before handing over the baton to Kerrie Forster.

Kerrie now succeeds Mark as CEO of the Association, but we haven’t lost Mark completely as he has now stepped into the position as Chairman of the Association (Giving Mark Meade a much-deserved rest!).

During the NWA dinner on Wednesday night (12th) presentations were made and announced for the following persons for their long commitments to the NWA;

  • Mike Stansfield     –       Mike was one of the founding members of the NWA, his dedication to the industry saw him actively being a member of the Committee for an incredible duration. Mike stood down from the Committee at this years AGM due to his health, we send Mike, his family and friends all our thoughts and thank him for his many years of sharp wit, strong focus and keen enthusiasm to make the NWA what it is today.
  • Kaye Conafray         –      Until this year when Jacqui Bruce joined the NWA staff, the position of Treasurer had always been completed on a voluntary basis. This role for the past years has been held by Kaye Conefree, her time and experience has been extremely cherished by the Committee and Mark Ranson, we all wish Kaye and her husband Mike (also a previous Committee member) all the best in the future and look forward to seeing you again wherever that may be!
  • Yvonne Orr            –       Yvonne this year ended her time on the Committee after tirelessly representing the association at a countless number of Scottish and Training /Qualification  industry workgroups. Some of her merits are working to get the acceptance of the ‘Scottish Workboat Apprenticeship program’ and paying an active role in the creation of the ‘Workboat Code revision 2’. Yvonne’s charm and constructive ambitions will be greatly missed from the committee, but in her place she has enabled us David McGregor (also of MCS) to continue her hard work (Hopefully for the same amount of years to come!!)
  • Mark Ranson        –       As noted above Mark Ranson has this Seaworks changed role from CEO to Chairman, his dedication, hard work and meaningful representation at industry events has really provided the Association and Workboat industry some fantastic benefits overs his time on the NWA staff. We look forward to having Mark onboard in the position of Chairman as we continue to learn from his large knowledge of safety standards, the commercial shipping industry as a whole and his endless network of go-to people.
  • Mark Meade         –       The Chairman of the Association who – I quote “has been in more rounds than Frank Bruno!” And there is no doubt why, he has stood through thick and thin as a figurehead of the Association. He has passionately and repeatedly implemented the Association’s  aims and concerns at a large number of industry meetings and events for nearly two decades. Mark really does prove what the words ‘contribution’ and ‘commitment’ mean, as he takes a well-earned rest from active roles in the association – we all thank him for dedication and many years service.
Mark Ranson wins Maritime Professional of the year 2019!