Emma Maunder wins the 2024 John Percival Memorial Award for best industry trainee

On 12th June 2024 at Seawork, the Workboat Association announced Emma Maunder of Cattewater Harbour Commissioners winner of the John Percival Memorial Award 2024 for best industry trainee.

A representative panel of the WA membership was put together to agree on this years winner, based on nominations received. The panel consisted of representatives from each of the 3 x membership categories (Boat Owning, Corporate and Individual members) and WA CEO Kerrie Forster.

Neville Metcalfe of Purus Marine represented the panel to announce the award in front of 170 members and guests during the WA Dinner at Seawork.

It was unanimously agreed that Emma should win the 2024 John Percival Memorial Award 2024 based on her outstanding grasp of the skills required in her role at Cattewater Harbour Commissioners, but also for the voluntary work she is doing outside of her usual daily work to promote the maritime sector and help disadvantaged children in her local area. On top of this, Emma was key in the emergency assistance of a harbour user that had suffered life-threatening injuries from a leisure vessel. Her enthusiasm, charisma and team bond were all attributes that her nominators felt stood her out against her peers.

Due to pre-planned activity, Emma was unable to collect her award in person at Seawork, but her parents joined to receive the award on her behalf. Cattewater Harbour Commisioners recently celebrated their 150th anniversary, where the award was presented formally to Emma in an audience of colleagues, stakeholders, guests and representatives of her training provider (SeaRegs Training) by VIP Matthew Morris FRICS FAAV (Representative Director, the Duchy of Cornwall).

Congratulations Emma!

Emma Maunder wins the 2024 John Percival Memorial Award for best industry trainee